From north to south, our country presents a series of mountainous formations, grouped in four mountain chains; Guanacaste’s Mountain Range, Tilaran’s Mountain Range (both located in the northwest area of the country), Central Mountain Range and Talamanca. The latter is the only one that doesn’t have volcanoes; but has the highest mountainous formations in the country, including Cerro Chirripo, the highest point in Costa Rican territory. On some volcanoes, you can climb very close to their crater; for security reasons, other volcanoes have to be seen from far. But no matter how close you can go; all of them offer particular characteristics that make them very interesting. The Poase’s crater (the second biggest in the planet), and Irazu volcano, as well as Arenal volcano, which offers regular nighttime shows due to its frequent activity.

Guanacaste’s Mountain Range:
– Orosi Volcano- Rincon de la Vieja Volcano- Tenorio Volcano- Miravalles Volcano
Tilarftn Mountain Range: – Arenal Volcano

Central Mountain Range:
– Poas Volcano- Barva Volcano- Irazu Volcano- Turrialba Volcano- Escazu Mountains
Talamanca Mountain Range: – Chirripo Mount

Leave a reply

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *